Posted by: theweesak | June 30, 2009

Sleeping!

Ahhh, there is nothing like feeling well rested…We are the proud parents of a 2 week old who slept for 7 hours the other night! It was so fantastic, I can’t even put it into words. I haven’t slept that well since December (remember the times when I didn’t have to get up to pee 11 times per night?!?). Oh I know, it only happened once, but it was a great peek into (hopefully!) nights to come.

Also, another first. As we are sitting in the Pediatric Opthamologist’s office this morning (don’t worry — all is A-OK!), I couldn’t help but wonder what that wet feeling was on my hand as I held the little one. Lo and behold, our first diaper explosion. Yep. And who is the new mom who cleaned out the diaper bag and neglected to toss in another onesie? You got it. So I look like the irresponsible mother who didn’t dress her child before she left the house. Luckily, she has a great Daddy who can ride like the wind to The Bay to buy a replacement (and if any of you know Bee, he couldn’t resist taking a bit of a dig through the sale rack in the Men’s Department).

On another note, I’ve been feeling a little under the weather with a touch of mastitis and some other kind of infection showing it’s ugly face through a red splotchy rash on my legs, underarms and palms of my hands. Oh! – To have my pre-baby body back. Fond memories of jeans that fit, a comfortable bra and skin that didn’t burn like the dickens. All far far away dreams at this point I guess, but well worth the trade off!

Needless to say, with all of these goings on, Stella, Bee and I have spent a lot of days in the past 2 weeks in the offices of various nurses, doctors and LC’s. I have a solid familiarity with all of the Canadian Living issues from the summer of 2006 from my readings in waiting rooms. If you need a great recipe for Strawberry Summer Angel Food Cake or a lovely Potato Salad…just come a’knockin. I’ll hook you up.

Leave a Reply

Categories

